Don't miss your chance to own a piece of local, state, and national African American history! Being advertised nationally and featured in the November edition of This Old House Magazine, this gem won't stay on the market for long!
According to a notice in the August 11, 1894 edition of the Frankfort Roundabout, the First Corinthian Missionary Baptist Church, a local historic African American congregation that traces its history to 1817, built this parsonage specifically for the purpose to serve as "A Home for the Pastor." For more than a half-century afterward, the structure housed many notable African Americans who served as the church's pastor while the congregation was located on Mero Street in downtown Frankfort.
Later, the structure became home to Rev. Charles Newton King, a WWI veteran who became the first African American pastor elected to high office of both the Southern Baptist Convention and the Kentucky Baptist Convention. King also served as principal of the Mayo-Underwood School, Frankfort’s segregated high school that was closed during desegregation and demolished as part of Urban Renewal. The Frankfort Urban Renewal and Redevelopment Project forced First Corinthian to abandon its historic church building in 1967 and relocate across the Kentucky River to South Frankfort. The congregation built a new structure adjacent to the parsonage in an area of the city that would then become predominantly occupied by African American citizens. The First Corinthian Missionary Baptist Church in its current establishment was formally organized following the Civil War in the 1870’s. More of its history can be found here: https://www.firstcorinthianmbc.com/history
In recent years, the parsonage was rented and then a decision was made to expand and construct a community center on the site. For the parsonage’s important history, and as a contributing structure to the local South Frankfort neighborhood and national historic district, the FCTHP offered to assist the church when demolition seemed inevitable, accepting a donation of the house in order to move it to a new adjacent location. The FCTHP volunteer board has worked over the last year to move the house to a new lot across the street from the church, partially on the site of the former Winnie Scott Hospital, a locally organized African American hospital that operated from 1915 until 1959.
Now located at 228/230 & 230.5 West Second Street, the former parsonage has been moved and placed on a new foundation laid on a monolithic slab and raised above the flood plain of the nearby Kentucky River. Approximately 1,584 sq. ft, the house is a two-story wood frame structure, with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths, but requires a full renovation/rehabilitation. Its new lot adjoins a rear alley with room to construct an auxiliary structure and boasts area for a possible addition to the house.
The new lot also includes the former location of the historic Winnie Scott Hospital which, as previously mentioned, served as the only hospital for local African Americans during segregation, through Jim Crow, and until 1959. A pioneer of her time and member of the First Corinthian congregation, Winnie Scott was among the five members of the first graduating class (1890) of the State Normal School for Colored Persons, now known as Kentucky State University, the state's only historically Black college or university. A Kentucky Historical Marker sits in front of the property to commemorate her legacy and contributions to this community. Located directly behind the house and alley is Dolly Graham Park, a riverside park with newly installed playground and ongoing improvements named for another prominent member of this historic community.
WATCH: View a time-lapse of the April 19, 2021 move here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=APCRb3OnbHo (WARNING: Turn the volume down before watching).
Proposal submissions are due: December 3, 2021 at 5:00 pm Eastern via email to email@example.com